NewsDesign Educates Awards 2022

Honourable Mention | 'Light & Schools' School Laboratory

The Design Educates Awards recognise and promote the best ideas and implementations of architecture and design that support education worldwide. A jury of renowned experts, including Prof. Toyo Ito, looks for an added value – something that will have a lasting impact beyond the ubiquitous effects of design and architecture.

Our physics school laboratory “House of Teaching – Light & Schools” at the University of Hamburg was awarded an honourable mention at the Design Educates Awards 2022. We are delighted about this international recognition! Last year, our school cafeteria in Stuttgart was able to impress the jury of the DEAwards 2021 and was also awarded an honourable mention. The Design Educates Awards are organised by the non-profit Laka Foundation.

Building around and preserving the two existing pine trees as central figures of the outdoor space makes a significant contribution to strengthening ecological awareness at this location. This dedicated architectural gesture, which was implemented with great care and appreciation by all those involved in the construction, illustrates the respect for nature and the importance of prioritising it.

Markus Hammes

Share Post

Related topics

NeuigkeitenDesign Educates Awards 2022

Honorable Mention | Schullabor "Light & Schools"

Die ‘Design Educates Awards’ würdigen und fördern weltweit die besten Ideen und Umsetzungen von Architektur und Design, die Bildung unterstützen. Eine Jury aus namhaften Experten, unter ihnen Prof. Toyo Ito, sucht nach einem zusätzlichen Nutzen – nach Etwas, das über die allgegenwärtigen Auswirkungen von Design und Architektur hinaus einen nachhaltigen Einfluss haben wird. 

Unser Physik-Schullabor „Haus der Lehre – Light & Schools“ der Universität Hamburg wurde bei den „Design Educates Awards 2022“ mit einer Honorable Mention ausgezeichnet – wir freuen uns sehr über diese internationale Würdigung! Im vergangenen Jahr konnte unsere Schulmensa in Stuttgart bei den DEAwards 2021 überzeugen und war ebenfalls mit einer ‘Honorable Mention’ ausgezeichnet worden. Auslober der ‘Design Educates Awards’ ist die gemeinnützige Laka Foundation.

Das Umbauen und Erhalten der beiden bestehenden Kiefern auf dem Grundstück als zentrale Figuren des Außenraums leistet einen wesentlichen Beitrag das ökologische Bewusstsein an diesem Ort zu stärken. Diese hingebungsvolle bauliche Geste, die von allen Baubeteiligten mit großer Sorgfalt und Wertschätzung umgesetzt wurde, veranschaulicht den Respekt vor der Natur und die Wichtigkeit diese an erste Stelle zu setzen.

Markus Hammes

Neuigkeit teilen

Mehr zum Light & Schools